Finding God in the Busy Times

busy-3

It’s been a while, blogging friends! This summer I did a few posts for The Loved Bible Project, but other than that I haven’t been around much.

Life has just been…busy!

How do you find God in the busy times? I don’t even feel like I’m in a busy season anymore. If you stay in a season long enough, it just becomes your life. And that’s where I’m at right now.  Life is busy and shows no signs of slowing down. Time disappears and I’m sucked dry of energy and patience by the end of every day. Anyone else?

It’s exhausting. Overwhelming. Some days, confusing – think, “Where did my day go? Did I even accomplish anything on my to-do list today? How did I end up with 3 different to-do lists in the first place?!”

Yet, God hasn’t moved. As my to-do list gets longer he remains the same. His expectations don’t change. His love doesn’t change. His grace remains the same. And He is still waiting patiently for me to turn to him.

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
    my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
    as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
    beholding your power and glory.

Psalm 63:1-2

I used to read Psalms like these and wonder what it really felt like – to thirst and crave for God. I didn’t understand. I hadn’t truly experienced a desperate encounter with him and didn’t know what it felt like to be filled and carried by Him alone.

Then I walked through shame, regret, hurt, pain, confusion…and I knew. On the days when I couldn’t imagine walking out the door without meeting Him first – on the days when my hope was gone and I was tired of fighting and praying and crying out – I understood. My soul thirsts for God. My flesh craves his word and his voice.

There aren’t many “sanctuaries” tucked in to our workplace, whether that be an office, classroom, cubical, or home. When life is busy, quiet and peace are the first things to go.

Finding God in the busy times will look a little different for everyone. It takes time to find a rhythm flexible enough to withstand interruptions but meaningful enough to stay at the top of your priorities.

I don’t know what finding God in the busy times looks like for you. Quite honestly, I am still figuring it out myself! The best and first thing you should do? Pray. Ask God to show you a time, a space, a way to connect deeply with him. We know”…this is the confidence that we have toward him, that if we ask anything according to his will he hears us.” {1 John 5:14-15}

My prayer for the last few weeks has from Psalm 143

Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.” {Psalm 143:8}

I am naturally an early riser, but I enjoy slow and peaceful mornings over hurried, rushed ones. I have been an “on again, off again” quiet time girl. So for me, the discipline of rising early to meet with the Lord is something I not only desire, but feel God calling me into. I enjoy seeing the sun rise on weekdays, and by waking early I can have a slow morning, that begins calmly rather than in a rush to get out the door. I get to hear in the morning of God’s steadfast love. And he is faithful, meeting me there and speaking life into my heart through his word and his teaching.

I am far from legalistic about this. My success rate isn’t 100%. And I don’t wake to an alarm on the weekends or on days off. But my soul continues to thirst for Him and Him alone.

What I know is that in this season – a busy one, but also a challenging one – I need God daily. I need his peace, his comfort, his encouragement, his steadfast nature. I need him to hear me, but more than that I need to hear and feel him.

Some ideas for Finding God in the Busy Times

  • Play worship music at the office, at home, or in the car. Fill the empty space with encouragement that draws your attention upwards
  • Rise early to meet with him
  • Take a walk and take in his splendor through nature
  • Redeem your time in the car by praying or listening to his word
  • Set aside 5 minutes at the end of the day to reflect on where you encountered God that day
  • Choose to replace one thing you do daily (check facebook, watch netflix, drive through for coffee) with time spent meditating on the Lord
  • Set a reminder on your phone or change your wallpaper to display your favorite verse or a verse the Lord is challenging you with

I think the most important part of finding God in the busy times is finding a place where you can focus on him – whether that’s through prayer, music, his word – seeking a place where you can hear his voice every day. It may not always look the same from the outside – but if the posture of your heart says “Here I am, Lord. I thirst for you.” – God will meet you wherever you seek to find him.

4 thoughts on “Finding God in the Busy Times

Leave a Reply

