New Years & New Truths

This season of life and marriage has proven to be a difficult one – it is not that things are inherently bad. They are just difficult. But I know God has his hand in this season just as much as any other, and I one-hundred percent believe that God will work all things for good, according to his purpose {Romans 8:28}. Although at times it is hard to accept that Gods purpose may be different than what I had hoped, ultimately my trust and faith rests on Gods plan, not mine.

As I was thinking about the past two years, I realized that so many of the “hard” things are fueled by lies from the enemy. How do we fight those lies? I had been trying with prayer. With discernment from wise friends and mentors. Through conversation and encouragement from my husband. But the one place where I haven’t turned often enough is Gods word.

Before anything else, you know what I had to accept? I don’t have to be a bible scholar to understand God’s word and to apply it to my life. I don’t have to use a commentary or know the context of each and every verse I read (although this is super helpful and history is interesting in this context!). God just wants us to come thirsty and willing, and to come often.

So, in this New Year I am going to continue to fight for restoration and healing in our marriage. I am going to continue to be a prayer-warrior for my husbands heart and mind. I am going to continue to find joy in the mundane and count my blessings. And I am going to come to God first – thirsty, willing, and often – to fight the lies that creep into our marriage and into my heart. That is my New Years Resolution – to draw closer to Gods word so that I can become more like him – a better wife, a more faithful friend, and an encouragement to those around me.A few days ago I came across Hebrews 12:4 –

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

God’s word is powerful, and if is for here and for now. It can change our heart-issues. It can be used to discern truth from lies. It can impact the most private places of our souls. And most of all, it is the most powerful tool we have in combating the lies of the enemy.

So, I started off this year by fighting the lies I was most quickly able to identify – the places in my heart that just hurt sometimes. Maybe you can relate? Let Gods word speak louder than the lies of the enemy.

  • |God and others have bigger problems than I do – I should just deal with them and count myself lucky that it isn’t something worse| 1 John 5:14 says that we can ask anything of God with confidence. The Lord hears our cries and cares about his children {Psalm 69:33} and {Psalm 6:9} The enemy doesn’t want us to come together to fight him. He wants us to feel alone and isolated from others and from God. But we need each other. For encouragement, laughter, and wisdom. And we need God. He wants us to come to him with everything. Nothing is too big or too small. Maybe what we see as “small problems” are learning opportunities for bigger ones. If I learn now to trust God and turn to him in anything, I will be much more willing and able to do so in moments where the problem is much bigger.
  • |I don’t have a purpose in God’s kingdom and my story doesn’t merit a place in ministry| I think the enemy uses this one to keep me from doing powerful work in the kingdom of God.  I think he uses it on a lot of women – he attacks our confidence and makes us feel as if the work we are doing is without purpose. Proverbs 16:4 says that God created everything (You) with a purpose and God will fulfill his purpose for us {Psalm 138:8} God is so powerful and all knowing that nothing can interfere with the purpose he intends us for {Job 42:2} God saved us and “called us to a holy calling, not because of our works but because of his own purpose and grace which he gave us in Christ Jesus before the ages began. {1 Timothy 1:9} I just love that. He gave us a purpose of his own before time began. A purpose in Jesus. To love like Jesus loved and to spread the good news of the gospel. That be look big or small to you, but to God we are all equally important. I love what Paul says regarding gifts in 1 Corinthians 12:4-7: “Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit; and  there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone. To each is given the manifestation of the Spirit for the common good.”
  • |My husband would be better off without a wife, or he needs someone who is more understanding of his struggles/hobbies, etc| This lie comes from the hurt places that are still healing. But oh how to enemy uses it on the days when we are struggling more than celebrating. God didn’t say “the man who finds the perfect wife finds a good thing.” He said “he who finds a wife finds a good thing” {Proverbs 18:22} I don’t have to be my husbands soul mate to be the right wife for him. I don’t have to be perfect. On multiple occasions I have sinned against my husband – but this doesn’t disqualify me from being his helper. It just gives me more of an opportunity to love, because love covers a multitude of sins {1 Peter 4:8} God intentionally made a helper for man {Genesis 2:18} and I believe that he will use our marriage to glorify his goodness. This means that although I may not always love my husband well and he may not always make me feel appreciated, God put us together for an intentional reason. Remember the verses about purpose? Marriage is purposeful.

As I opened my bible in the early days of January to search out truths to these lies, God brought to attention verses that confirmed what I felt in my heart in so many ways and made me realize that although this is a “new years” resolution, its really more of a life change I want to make. I hope you can find encouragement in God’s word this year too – whatever struggles you are facing in marriage and in life, whatever lies you are trying to fight – God has encouragement and wisdom for you there.

Some of my “goals” for this new year:

  • Know that my JOY comes from the Lord and is not dependent on my circumstances – choose to put my hope in the Lord and not in my circumstances and run my course with joy {Psalm 19:5b}
  • Meditate on Gods word daily {Psalm 1:1-3} – I want to know and revere God’s grace and mercy at the end of every day and meet him and all his glory every morning {Exodus 16:6b-7a} This means early to bed and early to rise every day. It’s a sacrifice, but what a precious time to meet God before the sun each day {Psalm 5:3b}
  • Deal with my heart issues and frustrations by taking them to God first {Psalm 4:4}

If 2015  was hard year for you, or if you are walking into 2016 just as weary as ever, I know. I pray that you can find some encouragement here and from God in 2016. He is good, he is faithful, and he is unchanging.

P.S. I’m also running another half marathon with my sister in April, so I need to run more. And I want to try the whole 30 for a month, attempt going vegan, and get more involved in ministry in our new church. And blog more often!! Those are more of goals than resolutions…but that’s just how I roll! Anyone else have fun New Years Resolutions or goals? Happy 2016 Friends!

Leave a Reply

