Meal Plan Monday

 

It’s back to school this week for my husband and I. Don’t get me wrong, I feel so blessed that we both have great jobs and work the same schedule – but I will miss lazy mornings and the relaxed schedule we’ve enjoyed the last two weeks. I’m the type of person who either goes 100% or not at all, so the busy-ness of the semester wears me down. We had a wonderful, relaxing break full of entertaining in our new home, spending time with family for the Holidays, enjoying our new church, investing time in each other, and spending time in God’s word. But, back to reality!

I love planning our meals and trying out new recipes. But, this week is pretty simple as I am trying to clean out the fridge, eat clean to recover from all the treats and eating out during the holiday break, and ease myself back into waking up early/being busy/etc. My husband also got a charcoal grill for Christmas. Usually I do most of the prep and cooking because he is in seminary full time on top of working. He doesn’t go back to seminary for another TWO WEEKS though, so he is putting his new grill to good use this week and next!

Keep reading for our meal plan this week!

Remember to check me out on Pinterst for some yummy meal ideas!  I’m not using many recipes this week. See below for the How-To’s on throwing together these easy meals. Happy Meal Planning!

Sunday – Chicken breast and mushrooms on the grill, frozen green beans, and homemade potato wedges*
Monday – Pasta with frozen kale*
Tuesday – Mexican stuffed Sweet Potatoes*
Wednesday – Grilled Salmon (on the grill), brown rice, frozen green beans
Thursday – Stir Fry with frozen chicken
Friday – Minestrone soup from the freezer (find recipe on my pinterest board here) with bread
Saturday – Omelets with bacon, toast and fruit

Homemade Potato Wedges

  • Preheat oven to 375.  Slice a russet potato in half 3 times (total of 8 pieces). Sometimes I slice the pieces an additional time to make them skinnier and to get more pieces (makes me feel like I’m eating more!).  Toss them with olive oil, lots of salt and pepper, and any other spices you like – garlic powder is good, and so it paprika and chili powder. Place them on a foil lined, greased baking sheet (foil and spray or else…) and bake for 25-35 minutes until crispy.

Pasta with frozen Kale

  • Cook pasta according to package directions.  About 5 mins to being done, add frozen kale and salt to boiling pasta. Drain. Toss with pesto, pasta sauce, or olive oil and parmesan cheese. Done!

Mexican stuffed sweet potatoes

  • I cook my sweet potatoes in the crock pot because I always mess them up in the mircowave (embarrassing, I know!) and I am too impatient to cook them in the oven. Scrub the sweet potatoes and rinse (do not dry off, this is all the moisture the potatoes will need in the crockpot) Place rinsed potatoes into the crockpot. Cover and cook on on LOW for 6-7 hours or HIGH for 3.5-4 hours. Potatoes are done when a fork have easily be inserted into the potato. Slice sweet potatoes in half, top with rinsed and drained beans (black or kidney), diced tomato (if using canned, rinse first), avocado, cheese, red onion or green onion, cumin, chili powder, and any other mexican yuminess you’d like!

 

 

Leave a Reply

