Simply Abundant

My verse for 2015 was John 10:10

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.

The enemy did come. He stole my joy, my passion, my motivation, and my grace. He attacked my marriage. I was lost, discouraged and without hope. I felt ashamed that my seemingly easy life had been turned upside down again and guilty that I assumed our marriage wouldn’t be under attack by the enemy.  I was paralyzed by fear and couldn’t foster new relationships. God felt distant.

But God is good. When he put the word ABUNDANT on my heart, he had better plans that I did.

His verse for 2015 was Ephesians 3:20.

Now to him who is able to do far
more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us.

God answered unspoken prayers in an exceedingly abundant way. He did immeasurably, infinitely more than I had hoped or asked. My definition of abundant was to survive. To get by. To smile and pretend with the hopes that eventually, pretending would become reality. But that isn’t what God wants for his children.He gently encouraged me back to him. He softened my heart. He taught me grace. He pulled me deeper into the valley.  And then he showed me that imperfect progress IS progress because as an heir to the thrown, my sins are forgiven and my salvation isn’t based on my performance.

And here I am, in a new season of life. Through absolute brokenness comes life, love, grace, mercy, and redemption. God is so, so good.

I decided to start blogging as a way to explore my calling in our marriage and our ministry. I hope you will join me as I share my heart, what God is teaching me, and how I try to keep our crazy, busy life simply abundant!

One thought on “Simply Abundant

Leave a Reply

